The Architecture Award originated in Spain back in 2005 and following three back-to-back national editions it extended its scope to become an international event attracting overwhelming levels of interest. The first edition of the BigMat International Architecture Award took place in 2013 and the grand prize went to Belgian architect Xaveer de Geyter at the awards ceremony held in Granada, Spain, in November 2013. Spanish architect Alberto Campo Baeza was proclaimed the winner of the second edition of the event held in Berlin in November 2015. In the third edition of the event held in 2017, French architecture studio Lacaton & Vassal was named the winner at a ceremony held in Florence. The latest edition will be held in 2019 and seeks to recognise works of architectural excellence in the seven countries in which BigMat is present.